Tuition & Fees
Michigan State University College of Law creates a student budget (also known as “cost of attendance”) for each academic year. The student budget consists of direct costs (i.e., tuition and fees) and indirect costs (housing, food, transportation, etc.).
Effective with the 2020-2021 academic year, tuition is assessed with In-State and Out-of-State tuition. Michigan State University College of Law has a "flat rate" whereby students enrolled in 10-17 credit hours in the fall or spring semester pay a standard rate. Students taking less than 10 credit hours in a semester are assessed tuition on a per-credit hour basis and students enrolled in more than 17 credit hours a semester will be assessed a per-credit hour surcharge. A full-time first-year student will take 28 or 29 credit hours, with 88 credit hours required for graduation from the College of Law.
Tuition and fees subject to change by MSU Board of Trustees. Tuition amounts reflect 1 credit. J.D. tuition cost will change to block fee after 10 credits If a student enrolls in JD/MBA they will have an adjustment to financial aid will revise the cost of attendance accordingly. Minimum enrollment level required for aid disbursement is 6 credits for Stafford and Grad Plus loans.
|Tuition In-State||$41,040||Tuition Out-State||$45,600|
|Other Educational Costs||$2,000||Other Educational Costs||$2,000|
|Fees & Taxes||$384||Fees & Taxes||$384|
|Books & Supplies||$3,072||Books & Supplies||$3,072|
|Food & Housing||$14,652||Food & Housing||$14,652|
|Personal & Misc.||$3,048||Personal/Misc.||$3,048|
1L students should add $200 for the RWA Lab fee (total budget would be $65,754/$70,314).
3L students should add $625 for an average bar exam fee (total budget would be $66,179/$70,739).
Please note that all payments made by credit card will be subject to a 2.5% processing fee. Please keep this in mind when arranging payment.
For more information, please visit MSU Office of Financial Aid.