The Tenth Annual Junior Scholars in Intellectual Property (JSIP) Workshop

Thursday May 24, 2018

The JSIP Workshop offers a unique opportunity for junior scholars* writing in the areas of intellectual property, communications, and cyberlaw to receive detailed commentary on their work from established scholars in a focused workshop setting. Articles will be chosen through a blind-review selection process.

Participants are expected to cover their own travel costs and commit to attend the entire Workshop. Hotel accommodation and meals will be provided by MSU Law.

*Eligible junior scholars have seven or fewer years of full-time teaching experience.


Barton Beebe, New York University

Kevin Collins, Washington University

Rochelle Dreyfuss, New York University

Justin Hughes, Loyola Law School, Los Angeles

Jake Linford, Florida State University

Jessica Silbey, Northeastern University

Ted Sichelman, University of San Diego

Melissa Wasserman, University of Texas

2018 Juniors

Rebecca Curtin
Suffolk University School of Law
Zombie Cinderella and the Undead Public Domain (PDF)

Joseph Fishman
Vanderbilt Law School
Similar Secrets (PDF)

Dr. Shen Goh
Osgoode Hall Law School
Translating Trademarks: Towards the Equal Treatment of Foreign-Language Marks (PDF)

Paul Gugliuzza
Boston University School of Law
The Procedure of Patent Eligibility (PDF)

Dmitry Karshtedt
George Washington University Law School
For Better or Worse: Empowering FDA to Counter Patent Law's Push for Questionable Drug Changes (PDF)

Nicholson Price
University of Michigan
The Problem With Novelty (PDF)

Greg Reilly
Assistant Professor, Chicago-Kent College of Law
Amending Patent Claims (PDF)

Alexandra Roberts
University of New Hampshire
Trademark Failure to Function (PDF)

Deepa Varadarajan
Georgia State University
Similar Secrets (PDF)

MSU Law IPIC Program Host Faculty

Adam Candeub
Professor of Law & IPIC Program Director

Sean A. Pager
Professor of Law & IPIC Program Associate Director

Jennifer Carter-Johnson
Associate Professor of Law & IPIC Program Associate Director

James Chen
Justin Smith Morrill Chair in Law

David Blankfein-Tabachnick
Associate Professor of Law

Contact Sean Pager at for more information.

Review 9th Annual Junior Scholars in IP Workshop »