Faculty Emeriti

Joan W. Howarth

A.B. 1972, Smith College; J.D. Order of the Coif 1980, University of Southern California
Emerita since 2016

Clark C. Johnson

B.A. 1962, University of Michigan; J.D. cum laude 1970, Wayne State University; Certificate 1972, Harvard Law School; Ph.D. 1990, Wayne State University; LL.D. 2002, Michigan State University-DCL College of Law
Professor of Law 1973-2006, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs 1984-1985
Emeritus since 2006

Kevin C. Kennedy

B.A. with distinction 1973, University of Michigan; J.D. magna cum laude 1977, Wayne State University; LL.M. 1982, Harvard Law School
Professor 1987–2015
Emeritus since 2015

Amy C. McCormick

B.S.B.A. magna cum laude 1988, Georgetown University; J.D. cum laude 1991, Harvard Law School
Bar Admissions: Michigan, California, District of Columbia
Professor of Law 1994-2013
Emerita since 2013

Robert A. McCormick

B.A., cum laude, Michigan State University, 1969; J.D. University of Michigan, 1973
Bar Admissions: Colorado, Michigan
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs 1986–89, Professor of Law 1979–2013
Emeritus since 2013

Matthew McKinnon

B.S. 1961, University of Detroit; J.D. 1972, Detroit College of Law (now Michigan State University College of Law)
Bar Admissions: Michigan 1972
Assistant Professor 1972–74,  Associate Professor 1974–76, Professor 1977–2002
Emeritus since 2002

Kathleen E. Payne

B.A. 1967, Michigan State University; M.A. 1970, Eastern Michigan University; J.D. 1977, Detroit College of Law; LL.M. 1981, University of Michigan
Professor of Law 1980-2019
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs 2009-2013
Emerita since 2019

Brenda Jones Quick

B.A. 1981, University of Louisville; J.D. 1985, University of Louisville
Bar Admissions: Kentucky 1985, Michigan 1993
Associate Professor 1989–93, Professor 1993–2001, Associate Dean 1995–98
Emerita since 2001