MSU College of Law

8th Annual Junior Scholars in Intellectual Property (JSIP) Workshop

Michigan State University College of Law
Intellectual Property, Information & Communications Law Program (IPIC)

Wednesday and Thursday, May 25–26, 2016

The JSIP Workshop offers a unique opportunity for junior scholars* writing in the areas of intellectual property, communications, and cyberlaw to receive detailed commentary on their work from established scholars in a focused workshop setting. Articles will be chosen through a blind-review selection process. Participants are expected to cover their own travel costs and commit to attend the entire Workshop. Hotel accommodation and meals will be provided by MSU Law.

* Eligible junior scholars have seven or fewer years of full-time teaching experience.



Colleen Chien, Santa Clara
Julie Cohen, Georgetown
Dave Fagundes, Southwestern
Jacqui Lipton, Akron
Jon Masur, Chicago
Kristen Osenga, Richmond
Arti Rai, Duke
Matthew Sag, Loyola Chicago


Clark Asay
BYU Law School
Software's Copyright Anticommons (PDF)

Stephanie Bair
BYU Law School
Innovation Inc. (PDF)

Janet Freilich
Harvard Law School
Patent Clutter (PDF)

Patrick R. Goold
IIT Chicago-Kent
Unbundling the "Tort" of Copyright Infringement (PDF)

Dmitry Karshtedt
George Washington U. Law
Causal Responsibility and Patent Infringement (PDF)

Megan LaBelle 
Catholic University
Public Enforcement of Patent Law (PDF)

Timothy J. McFarlin
Elon University School of Law
Authorship and Audience Appeal (PDF)

Zahr Said
UW Law
A Transactional Theory of the Reader in Copyright Law (PDF)

Andres Sawicki
University of Miami School of Law
Risky IP (PDF)

MSU Law IPIC Program Host Faculty

Adam Candeub
Professor of Law & IPIC Program Director

Sean A. Pager
Associate Professor of Law & IPIC Program Associate Director

James Chen
Justin Smith Morrill Chair in Law

Jennifer Carter-Johnson
Assistant Professor of Law

David Blankfein-Tabachnick
Assistant Professor of Law

Contact Adam Candeub at for more information.

Review 7th Annual Junior Scholars in IP Workshop »