Board of Trustees

As a private, non-profit, independent law college that is affiliated with and academically integrated into one of the nation’s premier research universities, Michigan State University College of Law enjoys a unique position among law schools nationally. The College of Law is led by a Board of Trustees comprised of highly accomplished professionals drawn from the fields of law, business, and higher education. The Board provides strategic direction and counsel for the long-term success of the Law College. The president of the university serves as the president of the Law College, the Provost of MSU serves as Provost of the Law College, and one third of the Law College’s Board of Trustees are appointed by MSU’s Board of Trustees.

President of Michigan State University and MSU College of Law

Donald Nystrom, ’00, Chair

Charles A. Janssen, Vice-Chair

Elaine Fieldman, ’76

Clifton E. Haley, ’61, President Emeritus

Hon. Wallace B. Jefferson

Maurice G. Jenkins, ’81

Charles E. Langton, ’87

John J. Latella, ’00

Douglas Laycock

Cary S. McGehee, ’89

Hon. David W. McKeague

Richard D. McLellan

Hon. Colleen M. McNamara

Mayer (Mike) Morganroth, ’54

Michael G. Morris, ’81

Bryan T. Newland, ’07

Linda M. Orlans, ’87

John D. Pirich

Hon. David L. Porteous

Jennifer Poteat, ’04

Hon. G. Scott Romney

Robert Worthington, ’07

Trustees Emeriti

Hon. Marianne O. Battani, ’72

Raymond R. Behan, ’60

Joseph J. Buttigieg III, ’75

Frederick D. Dilley, ’75

Edwin W. Jakeway, ’61

Hon. Norman L. Lippitt, ’60

John D. O’Hair, ’54

Peter J. Palmer, ’68

Kenneth J. Robinson

John F. Schaefer, ’69

Hon. Richard F. Suhrheinrich, ’63, President Emeritus